AT4 vs. Denali: What’s the Difference?

April 8th, 2022 by

Like many other auto manufacturers, GMC divides its lineup into a series of trim levels that range from basic to luxury. The Denali and the AT4 are two of GMC’s high-end trims and are available with the Yukon, Sierra, Terrain, Acadia, and Canyon models. Both the AT4 and Denali are packed with features that make them a great option for drivers who value power and style. Continue reading to learn more about how these two trims compare.


2022 GMC Terrain AT4 AWD in Summit White Driving through mud puddle

2022 GMC Terrain AT4 AWD

Each Denali and AT4 vehicle shares the same sleek, updated design as the rest of the 2022 GMC lineup with a few unique features that make them stand out. Vehicles in the Denali line include a unique multidimensional chrome grille design that contrasts with the more traditional design of other GMC products. They also include signature chrome exterior highlights, distinctive GMC C-shaped headlights, heated power-adjustable mirrors with LED turn signal indicators, larger machined aluminum wheels, and a hands-free power liftgate. Additionally, the Denali series is available in a unique finish color called hunter metallic.

While the Denali series focuses on luxury, the AT4 family of vehicles is designed for superior outdoor performance. This design is evident in many of the AT4’s distinctive exterior features. The AT4 series shares many of the same features as the Denali family, including heated side mirrors, a hands-free liftgate, and signature wheels while adding several new perks. These include standard all-terrain tires, recovery hooks, front skid plates, upgraded suspension, and an improved angle of approach. These additional features contribute to the AT4’s superior off-road capability.


The Denali series’ focus on luxury doesn’t just apply to exterior features. Each Denali vehicle includes an upgraded interior design with sophisticated accents. Perforated leather seating with 10-way power adjustment, heating, and ventilation set the Denali apart from GMC’s other products. Additional features include premium carpet floor mats, heated leather-wrapped steering wheel, wood trim, a color heads-up display, and signature Denali badging. Most vehicles in the Denali family are available with a jet-black interior or a series of unique color schemes not available for other models.

The AT4 family features a comfortable and athletic interior that suits its wilderness role. Like the Denali series, AT4s include luxury perforated leather seating with 10-way adjustment, and feature heating, ventilation, and lumbar support for rides in harsh environments. Additional interior features include signature aluminum interior accents, exclusive color schemes, and premium floor liners to protect your car’s interior from your adventures.


Prices for AT4 and Denali vehicles reflect their unique features, with the luxury Denali line being slightly more expensive than the outdoor-oriented AT4. For example, MSRP for the Terrain Denali is $36,600, while the AT4 version starts at $34,000. Prices for other AT4 models include $41,400 for the Acadia, $66,000 for the Yukon, $38,400 for the Canyon, $56,800 for the Sierra 1500 Limited, and $61,100 for the Sierra HD. The prices for Denali trims are $46,600 for the Acadia, $70,000 for the Yukon, $41,200 for the Canyon, $56,800 for the Sierra 1500 Limited, and $67,600 for the Sierra HD.


Both the Denali and AT4 families include a range of premium entertainment features that give them an edge over standard models. This includes an eight-inch diagonal infotainment system with navigation that features voice-command capability and optional Wi-Fi connectivity. These vehicles also include a premium Bose audio system that uses eight high-quality speakers. Finally, AT4 and Denali drivers gain access to built-in Amazon Alexa and can connect their mobile devices via Apple CarPlay or Android Auto.


Available engines vary by model, with some AT4 trims being more focused on off-road performance. In the Terrain series, both trims feature a 1.5-liter turbocharged four-cylinder engine with start/stop technology and nine-speed automatic transmission, while the Acadia series comes with a 3.6-liter V-6 engine and nine-speed automatic transmission, with an option for a 2.0-liter four-cylinder turbocharged engine in the Denali. The Yukon Denali comes standard with a 6.2-liter V-8 engine and 10-speed automatic transmission, while its AT4 counterpart is available with a 5.3-liter V-8 engine.

Both the AT4 and Denali versions of the Canyon come standard with a 3.6-liter V-6 engine, while a 2.8-liter Duramax Turbo-diesel four-cylinder engine is available in the AT4 for increased power. GMC’s Sierra 1500 Limited series includes options for a 6.2-liter EcoTec3 V-8 engine or a 3.0-liter Duramax Turbo-Diesel I6 engine, with a third option, the 5.3-liter EcoTec3 V8 engine available only in the Denali trim. Finally, both the Sierra HD Denali and the Sierra HD AT4 feature a 6.6-liter Duramax Turbo-Diesel V-8 engine and 10-speed automatic transmission.


Each vehicle in the Denali and AT4 family includes a range of specialty performance features. While exact details vary by model, some of these features include advanced trailering packages, air ride adaptive suspension, StabiliTrak electronic stability control, hill descent control, magnetic ride control, and hill start assist. Some AT4 and Denali models are also available with GMC’s Traction Select System and Active Response System for greater control on slick surfaces and rough terrain. Together, these features can turn any Denali or AT4 into a formidable adventure vehicle for you and your whole family.

Safety Features

Both the Denali and AT4 families include the GMC Pro Safety Plus, which is now standard on all GMC trims. This system includes lane change and blind-zone alert, lane keep assist with lane departure warning, following distance indicator, pedestrian braking, front collision alert with automatic emergency braking, rear park assist, rear cross-traffic alert, and smart high beam technology. Additionally, Denali and AT4 series vehicles include adaptive cruise control, seat alert vibrations, and the teen driving feature that can give you increased peace of mind by encouraging responsible driving habits for your student drivers.

That’s our summary of the Denali and AT4 series from GMC. We hope it clarified the differences between the two. If this article inspired you to check out a new GMC vehicle, feel free to contact our staff or visit our showroom. We look forward to seeing you and helping you find the perfect vehicle for your needs and budget.

Posted in Buick GMC, Vehicles